EPS Lise Meitner prize

The European Physical Society, through its Nuclear Physics Division, has awarded the 2018 Lise Meitner Prize to Prof. Peter Ring (Technische Universität München) and Prof. Peter Schuck (Institut Physique Nucléaire Orsay and Laboratoire de Physique et de Modélisation des Milieux Condensés Grenoble) for their enormous impact on both theoretical and experimental many-body nuclear physics. In particular P. Ring developed new investigations in high-spin phenomena, collective vibrations and relativistic nuclear energy density functionals while P. Schuck  introduced new approaches for nuclear matter in connection with nuclear superfluidity and alpha-particle condensation.
The 2018 Lise Meitner Prize was sponsored by GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung GmbH, Darmstadt, KVI Centre for Advanced Radiation Technology, Groningen, Forschungszentrum GmbH, Jülich, Laboratori Nazionali del Sud, INFN, Catania, Laboratori Nazionali di Legnaro, INFN, Legnaro, and by Institut de Physique Nucléaire, Orsay.

Partager cet article